Introducing the Newest LFAheartland Blogger: Nicole

20 Mar

We are so pleased to be introducing everyone to a wonderful voice for lupus. Nicole is going to be the newest addition to our blogging team. From time to time she will be updating us on her personal battle with lupus and her thoughts about relevant lupus news. We believe that Nicole is an inspiration and that her story and thoughts have a lot to offer to the conversation. Read her story below:

Hello! My name is Nicole, I am a 26 year old living in Missouri. I was diagnosed with Lupus when I was 16. It has been quite an experience but I am proud to say happy 10 years and counting. I received great news (again!) during my recent doctor’s appointment – I am still in remission. It hasn’t always been smooth sailing, but with immense support from my family, friends, boyfriend and a doctor I owe my life to, it has all led me to live a ‘normal’ lifestyle and keep a positive outlook today.

I graduated from the University of Central Missouri with a degree in Communications and am currently a marketing assistant for a business supply company in Westport.

I have been a volunteer for the Lupus Foundation for a few years. I was a public relations intern for the Kansas City Chapter in the summer of 2009 and have been a Walk for Lupus Now team leader many times.

I am honored and excited I get to contribute thoughts, experiences and stories with you along the way. A day in the life of a lupus patient is always unknown. Hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

